Entries are open for TechBoard’s annual Angel investing awards

- August 4, 2022 2 MIN READ
Photo: AdobeStock
Entries for the annual Techboard Australian Angel Awards 2022 have opened.

The awards recognise the Angel investment community and the importance of Angel investment to the growth of the Australian startup and tech ecosystem.

The categories for 2022 are:

Most active regional Angel group for angel groups based outside of a capital city, assessed by the highest number of confirmed Angel investments.

Most active Angel investor assessed by highest number of confirmed Angel investments.

Angel investor of the year to be awarded to Angel investor who has made a significant contribution to the Australian Angel investment community as assessed by the judging panel – taking into account not just the investor’s investment activity, but also their impact on the angel investor community through education, support, promotion or other activities.

Best Angel exit of the year assessed to be the most financially successful exit of an Angel investment.

Most active Angel group assessed by the highest number of confirmed angel investments.

The awards will be based on a data-driven assessment, as well as an expert judging panel made up of representatives of Australia’s key Angel groups. They are: Jordan Green – Melbourne Angels (Chair); Sharif Sethi – Brisbane Angels; Simon Horne – Angel Loop; Josh Garratt – Southern Angels; Karen Farley – Sydney Angels; Rick McElhinney – Gold Coast Angels; Lynda Coker – Scale Investors; Rafael Kimberley-Bowen – Perth Angels (Organiser).

The awards are again organised by Techboard, Australia’s main source of startup and tech company data.

Last year Alice Anderson Fund chair and Scale Investors cofounder Susan Oliver was named Angel of the Year, in recognition of her contribution to Angel investment and overall impact on the Angel community.

Brisbane Angels were very well represented in last year’s awards, taking out three categories, Best Exit, Most Active Group and Most Active Individual with Richard Moore who made 14 individual investments.

Nominations are open until August 16. Entry details are here.