The 2012 Unleash Your App competition reached more than 6,000 university students, culminating in entries from 10 different universities across Australia, including the University of the Sunshine Coast, Latrobe University, University of Melbourne, RMIT University, Monash University, Swinburne University of Technology, Australian National University, University of Technology Sydney, University of New South Wales and University of Western Sydney.